Alcohol and Drug Abuse Division
Tobacco Compliance Check: 2016
The Hawaii State Department of Health Alcohol and Drug Abuse Division with the University of Hawaii Office of Public Health Studies and local police departments from Honolulu, Maui, Hawaii and Kauai counties conduct monthly tobacco compliance checks of retail outlets across the state. These compliance checks enforce State law HRS Section 709-908 – Prohibiting Tobacco Sales to Minors.
The following is a list of outlets that were inspected. Those who failed had clerks who were cited for selling tobacco to persons under 18 years of age and were given police citations with fines from $500.00 up to $2000.00