Alcohol and Drug Abuse – Professional Certification

In accordance with Hawaii Revised Statutes 321-193(10), the Department of Health’s Alcohol and Drug Abuse Division certifies substance abuse counselors and program administrators.

Hawaii is a member board of the International Certification & Reciprocity Consortium/Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse, Inc. (IC&RC/AODA). The IC&RC is a voluntary international organization comprised of substance abuse credentialing boards representing 41 states, the U.S. military, various Indian Health Service Organizations, and a range of countries. As a member board, Hawaii subscribes to the international standards prescribed by the IC&RC and published in the IC&RC Guidelines. Qualified counselors certified in Hawaii have reciprocity with other IC&RC member boards, as indicated by Hawaii Administrative Rules 11-177.1.

All applications, renewals, educational documents needs to be mailed to the office. 

Processing Days is Thursday for all new candidates and for work/education verification updates. Due to the increase of candidates, respond time may take up to 8-12 weeks (subject to change). All Renewals will be reviewed as received.

Application for testing will be provided by ADAD. If you pass the test, you will receive confirmation within 2-4 weeks. If you do not pass, you will need to wait 90 days to contact ADAD for a new testing application.

As of June 26, 2023 – Applicants that fail to submit required documentation may result in rejection of your application and/ or hinderance of the review processes.

Certified Substance Abuse Counselor

CSAC Application Instructions, Code of Ethics for CSAC, CCS, CCJP and CSAPA, 12 Core Functions – updated 4/15/2024 


New Work Verification – updated 4/15/2024

Certified Prevention Specialist

CPS General Instructions and Application-Updated

Code of Ethics for CPS

CPS Work Verification




Certified Clinical Supervisor

CCS General Information and Application

Work Experience Verification





Certified Criminal Justice Professional

CCJP-General Instructions and Application

Work Experience Verification

CCJP Suggested Reading



Certified Program Administrators

Application for Certified Substance Abuse Program Administrator




Renewal Applications

CSAC Renewal Application

CPS Renewal Application

CCJP Renewal Application

CCS Renewal Application

CSAPA Renewal Application

LCSW, LMFT, APRN, LMHC, Licensed Psychologist, MD Renewal Application


RECIPROCITY INTO ADAD: Addiction professionals certified by an IC&RC member board who relocated to Hawaii may transfer their credential to ADAD using the reciprocity process.  To begin the reciprocity process, certified addiction professionals must contact their current credentialing board and request a reciprocity application. Upon completion of the reciprocity application by both the certified addiction professional and the current credentialing board and upon receipt of this information by ADAD. ADAD will review your application and advise if additional requirements need to be obtained before becoming a Hawaii Certified Substance Abuse Counselor (CSAC). Review the Credential Information regarding the Reciprocity Process to Other IC&RC Member Boards.


Effective 10/01/2017, the Alcohol and Drug Abuse Division will maintain a list of Certified Substance Abuse Counselors (CSAC) who would like to perform mandatory assessments of those charged with Operating a Vehicle Under the Influence of an Intoxicant (OVUII). This will be done as a private enterprise, typically on a client self-pay basis. For more information or for an application to be placed on this list, contact ADAD at [email protected] . All existing assessors need to contact ADAD to remain on the list. Download the CSAC Application for Drivers Education/Independent Assessor Form  Application for Drivers Education Judicary – Independent Assessor Revised


To register as a Substance Abuse Professional under Dept. of Transportation rules, go to If you qualify as a SAP, please notify ADAD at [email protected] Effective July 1, 2017, the computer-based testing fee is $125.00 for all certifications. 

If you have any questions regarding certification contact ADAD at [email protected].

Hawaii Department of Health
Alcohol and Drug Abuse Division
601 Kamokila Blvd. Room 360
Kapolei, Hawai’i, 96707
(808) 692-7506