Contact

The State Laboratories Division (SLD) is located at 2725 Waimano Home Road, Pearl City, Hawaii 96782. This site has been the home of the SLD since 1995. If you have a question about the SLD, please call our Administration office at (808) 453-6652 or fax (808) 453-6662. Our knowledgeable staff will be able to help you with your needs.

  • Laboratory Director:  A. Christian Whelen, Ph.D
  • Administrative Assistant:  Cynthia Quidez
  • QA & Training Coordinator:  Kent Kitagawa
  • Information Technology Specialist:  Teresa Oshiro
  • Public Health Administrative Officer:  Marion Wong
  • Office Assistant:  Tanya Viernes

Environmental Health Analytical Services Branch

Wanda Chang
Environmental Health Analytical Services Branch Chief
Phone: (808) 453-6671
Fax: (808) 453-6685
wanda.chang@doh.hawaii.gov

Air Surveillance and Analysis
James Ciszewski
Phone: (808) 453-6620
Fax: (808) 453-6640
james.ciszewski@doh.hawaii.gov

Drinking Water
Richard Saiki
Phone: (808) 453-6679
Fax: (808) 453-6685
richard.saiki@doh.hawaii.gov

Drinking Water Lab Certification
Robert Pineda
Phone: (808) 453-6679
Fax: (808) 453-6685
robert.pineda@doh.hawaii.gov

DUI Coordination
William Stevens
Phone: (808) 453-6676
Fax: (808) 453-6685
william.stevens@doh.hawaii.gov

Environmental Microbiology
Dayna Ornellas
Phone: (808) 453-6609
Fax: (808) 453-6685
dayna.ornellas@doh.hawaii.gov

Food Chemistry
Orlando Tirado-Ramirez
Phone: (808) 453-6673
Fax: (808) 453-6685
orlando.tirado-ramirez@doh.hawaii.gov

Substance Abuse Testing
William Stevens
Phone: (808) 453-6676
Fax: (808) 453-6685
william.stevens@doh.hawaii.gov

Water Pollution
Danny Licudine
Phone: (808) 453-6684
Fax: (808) 453-6685
danilo.licudine@doh.hawaii.gov

Laboratory Preparedness and Response Program

Biological Response Section
Rebecca H. Sciulli, MSc, MT
LPRP Manager
Phone: (808) 453-5993
Emergency phone: (808) 368-3373
Pager: (808) 251-4014
Fax: (808) 453-5995
rebecca.sciulli@doh.hawaii.gov

Chemical Response Section
Gerald Pitz
BTP Chemist & Lab Coordinator
Phone: (808) 453-6748
Emergency Phone: (808) 225-9040
Fax: (808) 453-6662
gerald.pitz@doh.hawaii.gov

Medical Microbiology Branch

Gail Kunimoto
Medical Microbiology Branch Chief
Phone: (808) 453-6700
Fax: (808) 453-6716
gail.kunimoto@doh.hawaii.gov

Bacteriology and Parasitology
Norman P. O’Connor
Phone: (808) 453-6706
Fax: (808) 453-6716
norman.oconnor@doh.hawaii.gov

Mycobacteriology
Lance Chinna
Phone: (808) 453-6707
Fax: (808) 453-6716
lance.chinna@doh.hawaii.gov

Virology
Roland Lee
Phone: (808) 453-6705
Fax: (808) 453-6716
roland.lee@doh.hawaii.gov