Eligibility Criteria for EIS Services

To be eligible, a child under the age of 3 years must meet the eligibility criteria effective October 21, 2013.

Developmental delay means a delay in one or more of the 5 areas of development:

  • Physical
  • Cognitive
  • Communication
  • Social or emotional
  • Adaptive

Biologically at-risk means a diagnosed physical or mental condition that has a high probability of resulting in a developmental delay if early intervention services are not provided. This includes conditions such as:

  • Chromosomal abnormalities
  • Genetic or congenital disorders
  • Severe sensory impairments
  • Inborn errors of metabolism
  • Disorders reflecting disturbance of the development of the nervous system
  • Congenital infections
  • Disorders secondary to exposure to toxic substances
  • Severe attachment disorders
  • Autism spectrum disorder