ELECTRONIC DEVICE RECYCLING AND RECOVERY LAW
The Hawaii Electronic Device Recycling and Recovery Law requires manufacturers of electronic devices to operate recycling programs. Electronic devices (EDs) include computers, computer printers, computer monitors, portable computers with a screen size greater than four inches measured diagonally, and televisions with a viewable screen of nine inches or larger.
Electronic Device Recycling Information
Collection Locations A list of permanent collection locations by County.
Collectors of electronic devices recycled and reused in the State of Hawaii must register with the Department of Health (DOH) and pay an annual registration fee of $250 by January 1st of each year. Manufacturers shall only utilize collectors registered with the DOH.
Manufacturers of electronic devices sold in the State of Hawaii must register with the DOH and pay an annual registration fee of $5,000 by January 1st of each year. Manufacturers must register with the DOH prior to selling electronic devices in Hawaii.
Please register online using eCycle Registration: https://www.ecycleregistration.org
For 2022, manufacturers are required to register CEDs (covered electronic devices: computers, computer printers, computer monitors, portable computers) and CTVs (covered televisions) separately:
List of Registered CED Manufacturers (For calendar year 2022)
List of Registered CTV Manufacturers (For calendar year 2022)
For 2022, only CTV manufacturers have recycling goals:
Retailers shall only sell or offer to sell electronic devices registered with the DOH and must provide their customers with recycling information.
Hawaii Department of Health
Solid and Hazardous Waste Branch
2827 Waimano Home Road #100
Pearl City, HI 96782
Ph. (808) 586-4226
Fax (808) 586-7509
Toll-free phone numbers from neighbor islands:
Hawaii 808-974-4000 Ext. 6-4226-#
Kauai 808-274-3141 Ext. 6-4226-#
Maui 808-984-2400 Ext. 6-4226-#
Molokai & Lanai 1-800-468-4622 Ext. 6-4226-#