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Hawaii Electronic Device  
Recycling and Recovery Law 

Collector Definition 

Collector means a person that accepts 
electronic devices for reuse or delivers 
the devices to a recycler for the purposes 
of this chapter. 

 

Additional Definitions 

• Person: any individual, business, 
partnership, limited liability 
company, corporation, not-for-
profit organization, association, 
government entity, public benefit 
corporation, or public authority. 

• Recycler: any person who 
engages in the recycling of 
electronic devices for the 
purposes of this chapter. 

• Recycling: processing, including 
disassembling, dismantling, or 
shredding, electronic devices or 
their components to recover a 
useable product. 

• Reuse: any operation by which an 
electronic device changes 
ownership and is used for the 
same purpose for which it was 
originally purchased. 

 

 

Collector Requirements 

Collectors shall register with the DOH 
and pay a $250 fee annually. 
 
Collectors shall maintain records for 
a minimum of five years of the 
following:  

• the amount, in weight, of 
electronic devices it has 
collected; and  

• the amount, in weight, sent 
for recycling and reuse; and  

• bills of lading or weight 
tickets for all electronic 
devices sent for recycling or 
reuse. 

 
Collectors shall possess and maintain 
all necessary business and 
environmental permits. 
 
Collectors shall report to the DOH by 
March 31st of each year the weight of 
all electronic devices collected for 
recycling or reuse, the weight of 
electronic devices sent to each 
recycler, and the number of 
electronic devices reused in the 
previous year. 

Collector Information 

Collectors of electronic devices (EDs) recycled and reused in the State of Hawaii 
must register with the Department of Health (DOH) and pay an annual registration 
fee of $250.  Manufacturers shall only utilize Collectors registered with the DOH. 
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Recycling and Recovery  

Manufacturers are required to submit 
recycling plans to the DOH for approval.  
The collection, transportation, and 
recycling of electronic devices (EDs) must 
be fully funded by the manufacturer. 

Recycling plans are subject to the 
following conditions in law: 

• No fee shall be charged at the point 
of collection if the ED is brought by 
the ED owner to a central location for 
recycling. 

• A reasonable transportation fee may 
be charged if the ED manufacturer or 
manufacturer’s agent removes the 
ED from the owner’s premises at the 
owner’s request and if the removal is 
not in conjunction with delivery of a 
new ED to the owner. 

• Convenient collection services shall 
be provided at a minimum of once 
per month in each County and zip 
code tabulation area with a 
population greater than 25,000. 

• Mail-back only recycling plans are 
not allowed. 

• ED collectors must be registered with 
the DOH.  Recyclers must be R2 or          
e-Stewards certified. 

• Each manufacturer may develop its 
own recycling program or may 
collaborate with other 
manufacturers. 

 

Collector Timeline 

January 1, 2024 
Registration and $250 fee payment are 
due to the DOH.  Annual fee payments 
are due by January 1st of each year.  

 

March 31, 2024 

Collectors shall report to the DOH by 
March 31st of each year the weight of all 
electronic devices collected for recycling 
or reuse, the weight of electronic devices 
sent to each recycler, and the number of 
electronic devices reused in the previous 
year. 

 

Collector Registration 
Form 

The registration form can be 
downloaded from: 
www.hawaii.gov/ewaste 

 

Mail the completed form and the $250 
registration fee to: 
Hawaii Department of Health 
Solid and Hazardous Waste Branch 
2827 Waimano Home Rd. #100 
Pearl City, HI 96782 
 

Registered collectors will be listed on: 
www.hawaii.gov/ewaste 
 

For More Information Contact  

Hawaii Department of Health   Phone: (808) 586-4226  
Solid and Hazardous Waste Branch  Fax:  (808) 586-7509  
2827 Waimano Home Rd. #100    
Pearl City, Hawaii 96782    Website:  www.hawaii.gov/ewaste 

http://health.hawaii.gov/ewaste/files/2022/07/zipcodes.pdf
http://health.hawaii.gov/ewaste/files/2022/07/zipcodes.pdf
http://health.hawaii.gov/ewaste/files/2022/07/zipcodes.pdf
http://www.hawaii.gov/ewaste
http://www.hawaii.gov/ewaste

