Cesspool Conversion Working Group

The Department of Health (DOH) has been authorized by Act 132 of SLH 2018 to establish a cesspool conversion working group.  The purpose of this working group is to develop a long-range, comprehensive plan for cesspool conversion statewide for all cesspools by 2050.

Act 132 provided a list of objectives that will be evaluated by the working group.  The group is required to submit interim reports of its preliminary findings and recommendations, including proposed legislation, to the legislature no later than December 31, 2020 and December 31, 2021, and shall submit a final report, including findings, recommendations, and any proposed legislation, to the legislature no later than twenty days prior to the convening of the regular session of 2023.


  • Cesspool Conversion Finance Research Summary Report Prepared by Carollo Engineers | .pdf |
  • Cesspool Conversion Technologies Research Summary Report Prepared by Carollo Engineers | .pdf |
  • Identifying Potential Knowledge Gaps for Hawai’i’s Cesspool Conversion Plan | .pdf |
  • Financing Cesspool Conversions in Hawaii | .pdf |
  • A Multi-State Regulation and Policy Survey of Onsite Wastewater Treatment System Upgrade Programs | .pdf |
  • Investigation of Cesspool Upgrade Alternatives in Upcountry Maui Final Report | .pdf |
  • 2022 Hawai’i Cesspool Hazard Assessment & Prioritization Tool – 2022 Update Report & Technical Appendices | .pdf |
  • Presentations for the January 4, 2023 EEP/AEN Information Briefing on the Cesspool Conversion Working Group | .pdf |
  • Cesspool Conversion Working Group Final Report to the 2023 Regular Session Legislature | .pdf |

Cesspool Working Group Members

Name Organization
1 Dr. Elizabeth Char, Chair Director, DOH
2 Ted Bohlen
3 Stuart Coleman Surfrider Organization
4 Senator Senate
5 Charlene Lani Fernandez Bank of Hawaii
6 Ken Hiraki Hawai’i Association of Realtors
7 Troy Tanigawa Acting County Engineer, Dept. of Public Works, County of Kauai
8 Wesley Yokoyama Director, Department of Environmental Services, City and County of Honolulu
9 Ramzi Mansour Director, County of Hawaii, Department of Environmental Management
10 Dr. Darren T. Lerner Director, UH Sea Grant and the Pacific Islands Climate Science Center
11 Representative Nicole Lowen House of Representatives
12 David Smith EPA Region 9
13 Eric Nakagawa Chief, County of Maui, Wastewater Division
14 Erica Perez Coral Reef Alliance
15 Sina Pruder Wastewater Branch, DOH
16 Dr. Kawika Winter Manager, He’eia National Estuarine Research Reserve, Hawai’i Institute for Marine Biology
17 Michael Mezzacapo

Meeting Agenda and Minutes