

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

DAVID Y. IGE GOVERNOR

VIRGINIA PRESSLER, M.D.
DIRECTOR

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

March 10, 2017

17-018

Hawaii Department of Health reconvenes public hearings on amendments to state's food safety rules

HONOLULU – The Hawaii Department of Health (DOH) will reconvene public hearings statewide on Hawaii Island, Oahu, Maui, and Kauai from March 13-17, 2017 to introduce amendments to Chapter 50 of the state's Food Safety Code. The proposed amendments will impact all food establishments throughout the state and are designed to improve food safety and lower public health risks for foodborne illness.

Initial public hearings on the Chapter 50 rule changes were held the week of Dec. 5-9, 2016 on Oahu, Maui, Kauai, and in Kona and Hilo and were uneventful with no testimony provided in opposition the proposed rule changes.

After the public hearings in December, the department discovered an issue with a section of the rule that exempts small family child-care and adult day care providers in private homes. The proposed amendments clarify the adult and child care provider and bed and breakfast exemptions and add a requirement for food safety education certification. The amendment will allow child and adult day care operators to conform to USDA nutritional guidelines and to continue to receive subsidies from USDA where possible.

In addition, an error in the previous draft of section 11-50-3(b)(4) will be corrected to change the number of valid days for a Special Event Temporary Food Establishment permit from "365 days" to "30 days" and allow consecutive permits.

Other amendments being proposed include:

- Requiring food safety education training for persons-in-charge at food establishments (during normal business hours, including food preparation time, at least one employee at a food establishment must have formal food handlers training level certification);
- Removing application requirements for homemade foods (cottage foods) that are not considered potentially hazardous foods and requiring food safety training;

- Establishing a new fee structure for Temporary Food Establishment Permits (\$100 for a 20-day permit plus \$5 for each additional day over 20 to a maximum of one year);
- Streamlining regulations for mobile food establishments (e.g. food trucks) by incorporating the requirements into existing rules for their base operations or "brick and mortar" establishments;
- Revising the fee structure for mobile units with no increase to the total amount currently paid by a mobile operator;
- Allowing placarding during all inspections;
- Allowing the state to refuse permit renewal for non-payment of fines or stipulated agreements more than 30 days overdue; and
- Adoption of the 2013 FDA Model Food Code.

The main focus of the amendments is to require proof of a minimum baseline of food safety knowledge for all food establishment owners and managers. Numerous studies have shown that food establishments with properly trained persons in charge have a lower occurrence of critical food safety violations that are directly linked to food illnesses.

Public hearings on the proposed rule changes will be held on the dates, and at the times, and places noted below:

Island of Hawaii - Kona

Monday, March 13 (2 – 4 p.m.) West Hawaii Civic Center, Bldg. G 74-5044 Ane Keohokalole Highway, Kailua-Kona

Island of Hawaii - Hilo

Tuesday, March 14 (2 – 4 p.m.) Environmental Health Building Conference Room 1582 Kamehameha Avenue, Hilo

Island of Maui

Wednesday, March 15 (2 - 4 p.m.) UH Maui College Community Services Building 310 Kaahumanu Avenue, Bldg. #205, Kahului

Island of Oahu

Thursday, March 16 (2 - 4 p.m.)
Environmental Health Services Division
Food Safety Education Room
99-945 Halawa Valley St., Aiea

Island of Kauai

Friday, March 17, 2017 (2 – 4 p.m.) Lihue Health Center Conference Room 3040 Umi Street, Lihue