ACT 263 SLH 2023 - HAWAII HEMP TASK FORCE

Jointly convened by the Department of Agriculture (DOA) and Department of Health (DOH)

MEETING SUMMARY

<u>Date</u>: Wednesday, August 21, 2024

<u>Time</u>: 12:00 P.M. – 2:00 P.M (HST)

<u>In-Person</u> Plant Quarantine Branch, Conference Room

Meeting Department of Agriculture

Location: 1849 Auiki Street

Honolulu, Hawaii 96819-3100

Virtual Videoconference Meeting – Zoom Webinar

Participation: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/82807664440

Recording Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VpqP7GTxrGY

Present Task
Force Members
via Zoom:

Gail Byrne Baber	Robert Bence	Jared Dalgamouni
Kelly King	Kyle Leong	Charlene Matilda (proxy for Qing Li)
Michele Matsuda	Judiah McRoberts	Brittney Neal
Grant Overton	Greg Smith	Joseph Smith
Rusty Tapp	Scott Wong	

Absent Task
Force Member:

Ty Cheng	Janine Holstein	Gloria Ilagan
Qing Li	Liliana Napoleon	

Staff present in person/Zoom:

Stephen Dalton – DOA	Greg Edwards -DOH	Liam Gimon – DOH
Ashley Johnson –DOH	Lori Nagatoshi – DOH	Travis Moon –
		Deputy AG (Zoom)
Leo Obaldo – DOA	Jun Tulio -DOA	Heidy Tuliao - DOA

Agenda: The agenda for this meeting was posted to the Hawaii State

calendar as required by Section 92-7(b), Hawaii Revised Statutes,

Office of Information Practices.

<u>I. Call to</u> Task Force Chair Baber called the meeting to order.

order: Facilitator Tulio conducted the roll call, confirmed fourteen (14)

[00:00:13] members present, and quorum was established.

II. Presentation by Hemp Consultant on the Hemp Consultant's Report, including the Hemp Consultant's findings and recommendations regarding the infrastructure needs of Hawaii hemp farmers and the hemp industry.

[00:06:50]	Char O'Brien and Megan Villa's presentation.	
[00:22:49]	Facilitator Tulio confirmed there were no public testifiers.	
[00:25:13]	Comments/questions from Mr. Overton, Ms. Neal, and Chair Baber.	
[00:36:26]	Motion to request to the task force submit a separate final report. Motion made by: Ms. Neal	
[00:37:14]	Facilitator Tulio reminded the members that the final report is included in Agenda item #3.	
[00:38:51]	Comments from Mr. Bence, Ms. King, Mr. Overton, Chair Baber, Mr. Wong, Mr. Matsuda, and Mr. Tapp.	
[00:41:53]	Motion to request to the task force submit a separate final report. Seconded by: Mr. Bence	
[00:43:00] [01:29:00]	Judiah McRoberts <i>left the meeting.</i> Joseph Smith <i>left the meeting.</i>	
[01:34:37]	Comments from Char O'Brien, Chair Baber, Mr. Matsuda, and Mr. Overton.	
[01:41:00]	Discussion between Chair Baber, Mr. Moon, Mr. Bence, Mr. Overton, Ms. King, and Ms. Neal about posting a shared Google document and drafting the task force report.	
[02:02:00]	Scott Wong left the meeting.	
[02:08:47]	Chair Baber calls for vote on outstanding motion for task force to submit a separate final report from Ms. Neal: Gail Byrne Baber: Yes Robert Bence: Yes Jared Dalgamouni: Yes Kelly King: No response Kyle Leong: Charlene Matilda: Michele Matsuda: No	

Brittany Neal: Yes
Grant Overton: Yes
Greg Smith: Yes
Rusty Tapp: Yes

[02:16:00] Grant Overton *left the meeting.*

[02:10:36] Discussion between Chair Baber, Ms. Neal, and Mr. Moon about

the report and the Sunshine Law.

IV. Adjournment: Facilitator Tulio adjourned the meeting.

[02:15:19]