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WHO MUST SUBMIT AN INVENTORY FORM 
 
You need to report hazardous substances that were present at your facility at any time during the previous calendar 
year at levels that equal or exceed reporting thresholds established for Hawaii Chemical Inventory Form/Tier II 
(HCIF) reporting under the Hawaii Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (HEPCRA). These 
thresholds are as follows: 
 
For Extremely Hazardous Substances (EHS) designated under section 302 of The Emergency Planning and 
Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA), the reporting threshold is 500 pounds (or 227 kg) or the Threshold 
Planning Quantity (TPQ) whichever is lower. 
 
For all other hazardous chemicals for which facilities are required to have or prepare a Safety Data Sheet (SDS), the 
reporting threshold is 10,000 pounds or (4,540 kg). 
 
WHAT CHEMICALS ARE EXCLUDED 
 
1) Any food additive, color additive, drug or cosmetic regulated by the Food and Drug Administration; 
2) Any substance present as a solid in any manufactured item to the extent exposure to the substance does not 

occur under normal conditions of use; 
3) Any substance to the extent it is used for personal, family, or household purposes, or is present in the same form 

and concentration as a product packaged for distribution and use by the general public; 
4) Any substance to the extent it is used in research laboratory or a hospital or other medical facility under the 

direct supervision of a technically qualified individual; and 
5) Any substance to the extent it is used in routine agricultural operations or is a fertilizer held for sale by a retailer 

to the ultimate customer. 
In 1999, Federal EPCRA Section 311-312 threshold planning quantities increased to 75,000 gallons for gasoline and 
100,000 gallons for diesel for Retail Gasoline Stations that are in full compliance with underground storage tank 
regulations for the year. 
 
WHEN TO SUBMIT THE HCIF 
 
HCIFs for the reporting year January 1, 2023 through December 31, 2023 must be submitted by March 1, 2024. 
 
WHERE TO SUBMIT THE HCIF TO 
 
Send completed Hawaii Chemical Inventory/Tier II Forms to each of the following organizations: (Attachment 3-C) 
 

1) Hawaii State Emergency Response Commission (HSERC/HEER)  
 2) Your Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) 
 3) Your Local Fire Chief  
 
FILING FEE 
 
Under Hawaii Revised Statutes Section 128E-9 and Hawaii Administrative Rules 11-453-32, a $200.00 filing fee 
must be submitted for each facility covered under HEPCRA.  You are encouraged to make your payment online 
https://health.hawaii.gov/heer/submit-documents-to-heer/submit-a-hepcra-tier-ii-report/. Checks or money orders 
payable to the State of Hawaii, Hazard Evaluation and Emergency Response Office, or State of Hawaii, HEER 
Office will still be accepted.  No Purchase Orders will be accepted.     
 
PENALTIES 
 
Any owner or operator who violates any HCIF reporting requirements shall be liable to the State of Hawaii for a 
civil penalty of up to $25,000 for each such violation.  Each day of a violation constitutes a separate violation. 
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