Hawaii Electronic Device Recycling and Recovery Law

Electronic Device Manufacturers

Manufacturers of electronic devices (EDs) sold in the State of Hawaii must register with the Department of Health (DOH) and pay an annual registration fee of \$5,000.

Manufacturers must register with the DOH prior to selling EDs in Hawaii.

Electronic Devices

Electronic devices include computers, computer printers, computer monitors, portable computers with a screen size greater than four inches measured diagonally, and televisions with a viewable screen of nine inches or larger.

Manufacturer Described

Manufacturers are those who:

- Make or made electronic devices under their own brand; or
- Sold electronic devices under a brand which they licensed; or
- Sold electronic devices without affixing a brand.

Manufacturer Exemption

Manufacturers who sold fewer than 100 electronic devices in the State during the previous calendar year are exempt.

Electronic Device Exemptions

The law exempts devices listed below:

- Electronic devices that are a part of a motor vehicle. This also includes replacement parts for motor vehicles.
- Electronic devices functionally or physically required as parts of larger pieces of equipment used in industrial, commercial, or medical settings. Including diagnostic, monitoring, or control equipment.
- Electronic devices that are contained in appliances such as clothes washers, dryers, refrigerators, microwave ovens, conventional ovens, dishwashers, or air conditioners.
- Telephones, mobile telephones, and global positioning systems.

Recycling and Recovery

Manufacturers are required to submit recycling plans to the DOH for approval. The collection, transportation, and recycling of electronic devices (EDs) must be fully funded by the manufacturer.

Recycling plans are subject to the following conditions in law:

- No fee shall be charged at the point of collection if the ED is brought by the ED owner to a central location for recycling.
- A reasonable transportation fee may be charged if the ED manufacturer or manufacturer's agent removes the ED from the owner's premises at the owner's request and if the removal is not in conjunction with delivery of a new ED to the owner.
- Convenient collection services shall be provided at a minimum of once per month in each County and <u>zip</u> <u>code tabulation area with a</u> <u>population greater than 25,000</u>.
- Mail-back only recycling plans are not allowed.
- ED collectors must be registered with the DOH. Recyclers must be R2 or e-Stewards certified.
- Each manufacturer may develop its own recycling program or may collaborate with other manufacturers.

Manufacturer Timeline

August 1, 2023

Deadline for manufacturers to report its sales, by weight, of the manufacturer's EDs sold in the State in the previous calendar year, categorized by ED type. Reports are due annually.

September 1, 2023

Recycling plans for the next calendar year are due to the DOH. Recycling plans are due annually.

October 1, 2023

DOH will notify each manufacturer of its recycling obligation for the next calendar year.

Starting in 2023, manufacturers are required to recycle or reuse 50% by weight of their EDs sold in the State two years prior. Starting in 2024, the recycling/reuse obligation is 60% and in 2025 the recycling/reuse obligation is 70%, unless amended by rule.

January 1, 2024

Registration and \$5,000 fee payment due to the DOH. Registration and fee payments are due annually.

March 31, 2024

Deadline for manufacturers to report total weight of EDs recycled or reused, by County, in the previous calendar year. Manufacturers must report annually.

For More Information Contact

Hawaii Department of Health Solid and Hazardous Waste Branch 2827 Waimano Home Rd. #100 Pearl City, Hawaii 96782 **Phone:** (808) 586-4226 **Fax:** (808) 586-7509

Website: www.hawaii.gov/ewaste