State of Hawaii
Department of Health
Clean Air Branch
Instructions for Applying for an Agricultural Burning Permit
Permit is required by Hawaii Administrative Rules (HAR), Title 11, Chapter 60.1, Air Pollution Control

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS

Anyone engaged in an agricultural operation and burns green waste must obtain a permit from the Department of Health.
The requirements for an agricultural burning permit appear in HAR Section 11-60.1-51 to 58.

An Agricultural Burning Permit may be issued to bonafide agricultural operations to burn green waste, and is administered
by the Clean Air Branch. Applicants must submit all required information and applicable non-refundable fees. An
inspection will be made of the property to verify the operation. Permits are issued and are valid for one year. All
permittees are required to comply with the conditions of the permit. Violating the open burning rules can result in fines up
to $10,000 per day, per violation. Violating the provisions of an agricultural burning permit may also result in suspension,
termination or denial of your permit.

Complete and return this application with the appropriate attachments and fees to:

Clean Air Branch

Environmental Management Division
Hawaii Department of Health

P.O. Box 3378

Honolulu, Hawaii 96801

Please make checks payable to: CLEAN AIR SPECIAL FUND-NON and include your phone number on your check. Failure to do
so will delay the proessing of your application. The filing fee is non-refundable. There will be a service fee of $25.00 for any
check dishonored by the bank. If you have any questions call our office at (808) 586-4200.

SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS

Section 1. Applicant Information

Applicant's information shall include the applicant's name, mailing address, telephone number, cell phone number, and
email address. In addition to the applicant, an authorized individual, someone other than the applicant, who can be
contacted for any information or questions regarding the agricultural burn permit application. The applicant or the
authorized individual shall be responsible for the permit and respond to all permit matters.

Section 2. Permit to be Issued to: (List applicant's name or business which will appear on the permit.)

List the legal name of the applicant or business which will appear on the Agricultural Burning Permit when issued.
Provide business information including type of business, nature of business, General Excise Tax (GET) License number,
GET status, acres to be burned, property size, reason for burning, materials to be burned, and proposed start date.

Section 3. Burn Location *ATTACH MAP OF BURN LOCATION

Select the island and the specific address or TMK of the burn location. Attach a map which shows the relationship of the
surrounding area to the burn location. Identify fields, acreage, prevailing wind conditions and show all designated types of
buildings, schools, airports, and major highways.

Section 4. Property Information *ATTACH OWNERS WRITTEN AUTHORIZATION TO BURN ON THE PROPERTY.
Indicate if you are the owner of the property. If you are not the owner of the property include the Property Owner's name,
mailing address, telephone number, cell phone number, or email address. The applicant or authorized individual must
have the legal right, title, or possession to the property listed in Section 3 and if you are not the owner of the property,
attach the owner's written authorization to burn with the application and fee payment.

Section 5 Certification (Original signature in ink and date is required.)
The applicant or the authorized individual must print name, title, sign in ink and date. Original signature is required.
Failure to do so will delay the processing of your application.




