Cesspool Conversion Working Group

The Department of Health (DOH) has been authorized by Act 132 of SLH 2018 to establish a cesspool conversion working group.  The purpose of this working group is to develop a long-range, comprehensive plan for cesspool conversion statewide for all cesspools by 2050.

Act 132 provided a list of objectives that will be evaluated by the working group.  The group is required to submit an interim report of its preliminary findings and recommendations, including proposed legislation, to the legislature no later than December 31, 2019, and shall submit a final report, including findings, recommendations, and any proposed legislation, to the legislature no later than twenty days prior to the convening of the regular session of 2021.

New Request for Proposals of Procurement of Professional Services Dated April 29, 2019:

Procurement of Professional Services for Cesspool Conversion Technology Research Solicitation No. WWB 19‐01

Procurement of Professional Services for Cesspool Conversion Finance Research Solicitation No. WWB 19‐02

Proposals for both due on or before June 4, 2019

The Wastewater Branch shall accept written questions regarding this Professional Services RFP.  Inquires shall be made in writing by email to Ms. Sina Pruder (sina.pruder@doh.hawaii.gov) by the close of business on May 9, 2019 (telephone calls will not be acknowledged).  In order to facilitate a meaningful response, questions should reference the page and section number to which the questions relate. Responses to properly submitted questions shall be posted on the WWB website (http://health.hawaii.gov/wwb) by the close of business on May 21, 2019.   Inquires received after the deadline will not be reviewed. The WWB will not be responsible for delays or non-receipt of responses.

Cesspool Working Group Members

Name Organization
1 Bruce Anderson, Chair Director, DOH
2 Ted Bohlen Deputy Attorney General
3 Stuart Coleman Surfrider Organization
4 Senator Kalani English Senate
5 Charlene Lani Fernandez Bank of Hawaii
6 Ken Hiraki Hawai’i Association of Realtors
7 Jason Kagimoto Chief, Wastewater Div., County of Kauai
8 Lori Kahikina Director, Department of Environmental Services, City and County of Honolulu
9 William Kucharski Director, County of Hawaii, Department of Environmental Management
10 Dr. Darren T. Lerner Interim Director for the University of Hawaii Water Resources Research Center
11 Representative Nicole Lowen House of Representatives
12 Mike Montgomery EPA Region 9
13 Eric Nakagawa Chief, County of Maui, Wastewater Division
14 Erica Perez Coral Reef Alliance
15 Sina Pruder Wastewater Branch, DOH
16 Dr. Kawika Winter Manager, He’eia National Estuarine Research Reserve, Hawai’i Institute for Marine Biology


Meetings and Minutes

Meeting Date Agenda Minutes
9-13-18 agenda minutes
10-9-18 agenda minutes
     11-15-18     agenda       minutes
      1-18-19     agenda
      3-28-19      agenda