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QUALIFIED MEDICAL MARIJUANA USERS 

URGED TO RENEW THEIR CERTIFICATION BEFORE DEC. 12, 2014 
 

BLACKOUT PERIOD PLANNED FROM DEC. 12 – 31  
AS PROGAM TRANSITIONS TO HAWAII DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

  
HONOLULU – Hawaii patients whose medical marijuana certification is expiring by the end of December are 
urged to renew their certification with the Department of Public Safety before Dec. 12, 2014. 
 
A patient with a debilitating medical condition must obtain a signed physician’s medical statement that the 
potential benefits of the medical use of marijuana would likely outweigh the health risks for the qualifying 
patient before applying for a written certification from the Department of Public Safety.  
 
The medical marijuana program has been in operation for 14 years and, as required in Act 177, is being 
transferred to the Department of Health, effective Jan. 1, 2015.  There will be a planned blackout period from 
Dec. 12 to 31, 2014 in which no certifications will be issued to prepare for this transition. 
 
Although federal law prohibits the use of marijuana, Hawaii is one of 23 states and the District of Columbia that 
has legalized marijuana for medicinal purposes, acknowledging the health benefits of medical marijuana use. 
 
Certifications are good for 12 months and are issued on an annual basis. Patients must possess a current 
certification that allows lawful cultivation, possession, and use of marijuana for medical purposes. This 
certification must be available to law enforcement officials at any time to avoid potential legal action. The 
Department of Health will honor all current Department of Public Safety medical marijuana certifications 
through their expiration date. 
 
The current registration fee to receive a medical marijuana card from the Department of Public Safety is $25. In 
keeping with Act 177, commencing Jan. 1, 2016 medical marijuana applications will be submitted through an 
online process to the Department of Health and the registration fee will increase to $38.50 including the portal 
fee. Online payment will be available and is encouraged for faster services.  
 
For questions about the transition, patients may call the Medical Marijuana Information Hotline for recorded 
messages at 733-2177. Toll free numbers have also been established for neighbor island residents: Hawaii 
Island residents may call 974-4000, ext. 32177; Maui residents may call 984-2400, ext. 32177; and Kauai 
residents may call 274-3141, ext. 32177. For the most up-to-date information, visit the new Department of 
Health, Medical Marijuana Program’s website at health.hawaii.gov/medicalmarijuana.  
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