STATE OF HAWAII
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
4348 Waialae Avenue, #648

Honolulu, Hawaii 96816

Medical Use of Marijuana
General Information - Frequently Asked Questions

Effective January 1, 2015, the Hawaii's Medical Use of Marijuana Program will be transferred from the Department of
Public Safety to the Department of Health, according to Act 177. Act 178 amends sections of HRS 329 Part IX , some
notable changes, which become effective January 1, 2015, are:

e “Adequate supply” changes from “three mature marijuana plants, four immature marijuana plants, and one
ounce of usable marijuana” to “seven marijuana plants, whether immature or mature, and four ounces of
usable marijuana at any given time.”

e Notification of changes to information on the application - if the information provided to the department of
health for registration changes, the registered program participant MUST report this change to the department
of health “within ten working days” of the change. The previous requirement was “within five working days.”

Other Documents related to Hawaii’s Medical Marijuana Program

Act 228 SLH 2000 Hawaii’s initial Medical Use of Marijuana law.

Act178 SLH 2013 — Makes several changes to the current law (such as: “adequate supply” of medical marijuana
changes to 7 plants, regardless of maturity; useable marijuana changes to 4 oz; increase in registration fees from $25
to $35; and other changes) please read Act 178 for more information.

HRS-329 Hawaii’s Uniformed Controlled Substances Act (see part IX — Medical Use of Marijuana).

Department of Public Safety Medical Marijunana Program Info

U.S. Department of Justice “Update to Marijuana Enforcement Policy Aug. 29, 2013.

U.S. Department of Justice “Formal Medical Marijuana Guidelines” Oct. 9, 2009.

What’s New

Click here for new application information.

Want to get immediate email updates on the DOH Medical Marijuana Program? Please fill out the email sign up form
on the right of the screen. It’s the best way to learn about new developments as the program progresses. You'll
be notified by email when new information is available by subscribing to our automated email updates.

Communications — Visit this website regularly for the latest information about the Medical Marijuana Program. It's
your source of up to date information. For individuals without internet access, DOH has initiated an Information Hot
Line (808) 733-2177 for you to call and listen to general information about the program. If you are located on Hawaii,
you can call (808) 974-4000, ext. 32177; Maui, call (808) 984-2400, ext. 32177; Kauai, call (808) 274-3141, ext. 32177 —
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for toll free access to the Information Hot Line.

Grow Sites — In the proposed DOH Administrative Rules, which DOH anticipates will be heard in public hearing in early
2015, the person who has been designated to cultivate marijuana (either the qualifying patient or the primary
caregiver) must have a legible identification tag on each plant. At this time, DOH is recommending that all plants be
tagged at the base of each plant with the patient’s medical marijuana registration number and expiration date.
Remember, only one grow site per patient and only 7 plants TOTAL per each registered qualifying patient. Patients and
caregivers are protected only if both the individual(s) and the grow site are registered with DOH.

Law Enforcement — Local Law Enforcement will need to FAX requests for GROW SITE verification to DOH at (808) 733-
2178. Responses to GROW SITE verification will be provided from 9 AM — 4 PM, M —F, excluding State Holidays. Local
Law Enforcement will have access to a secure 24/7 online SUBJECT verification to verify PATIENTS OR

CAREGIVERS. The system will require one of the following:

1.

The patient or caregiver’s last name and date of birth; or
2. Medical marijuana card number; or
3. Valid government ID that was used by the program participant to register.

What'’s Staying the Same

10.

Physicians must still certify that their patient has a qualifying debilitating condition as specified in HRS-329 part
IX.

Registration cards must be signed by the physician AND all registration cards will be sent by DOH to the
certifying physician for distribution to the qualifying patient and caregiver, as applicable.

Caregivers must be 18 years or older.

A qualifying patient can have only one caregiver, and can be the caregiver for only one qualifying patient
(someone else).

A caregiver may be the caregiver for only one qualifying patient, and can also be a patient themselves.

The parent, guardian or legal custodian of a minor qualifying patient MUST register as the caregiver for that
minor.

If qualifying patients want to grow their own medical marijuana OR have their designated caregiver grow the
medical marijuana for them, a “grow site” MUST be designated on the application to DOH. The grow site must
be either the residence of the patient or caregiver OR it may be another site (preferably with a street address)
that is owned or controlled by the qualifying patient or the designated caregiver.

Only one grow site can be designated per qualifying patient.

If the grow site is NOT designated on the application, it will NOT be on the registration card and the qualifying
patient and/or caregiver that is growing medical marijuana will NOT be protected under the law until this
information is updated with DOH.

Electronic payments are strongly encouraged but those payments submitted via snail mail should be in the
form of a cashier’s check or money order.
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