How the Program Works
Although state residency is not a requirement of the Medical Cannabis Registry Program, the Program was designed to service qualifying individuals that reside in the state of Hawaii and all protections afforded under part IX, chapter 329, Hawaii Revised Statutes are only applicable in areas that fall within Hawaii state jurisdiction. Hawaii does not currently have a reciprocity law that would allow it to recognize medical cannabis cards issued in other states.
Determine if you are eligible.
- Do you have a debilitating medical condition as identified in the law?
- Do you have a physician willing to certify your condition and assist you with the application process? If not, you may contact the Drug Policy Forum (DPF). The DPF is compiling a third party list of physicians that may be able to assist you. For the time being, you can email firstname.lastname@example.org.
- Do you have a valid ID (driver’s license, state ID or passport book)?
- Minors – If the minor has a passport book, this is the preferred ID type or if they are 10+ years of age a state ID is also recommended/preferred. Birth certificates are acceptable for all minors however it must include the unique number on the minor’s birth certificate issued by a state of the United States.
Submit an application and make payment. See Registration Information.
- Patient schedules an appointment with a certifying physician (be sure your certifying physician has set up an account to use the DOH electronic registration system before you schedule your appointment to certify your condition).
- Patient goes to login.ehawaii.gov and creates a “free” secure account.
- Patient goes to medmj.ehawaii.gov to login.
- Patient fills out the online application and uploads any required documents (at minimum, a clear copy of your valid ID).
- Patient makes payment – the cost is $38.50 ($35 application fee + $3.50 portal administration fee) and must be paid with a credit/debit card or direct withdrawal from a savings or checking account. All fees are non-refundable, even if a card is NOT issued. Applications that utilize direct withdrawals from savings or checking accounts will not be processed until a minimum of 10 business days from date debit (to be sure it clears your account). Applications that utilize credit/debit card payment will have the shortest turnaround time.
- Physician reviews the application, certifies the patient’s condition, and submits the application to DOH. Certifying Physicians MUST complete an Electronic Signature Agreement before they can use the NEW Registration system
- DOH verifies the application and issues the 329 Card. INCOMPLETE applications will be returned electronically.
- DOH mails the 329 card directly to the patient.
Request replacement card when the information on your card changes.
- Notify DOH of any changes to your information within 10 days of occurrence.
- Request a replacement 329 Card ANYTIME the information on your card changes, or if your card is lost/stolen/damaged. Click here for Change Forms.
- Replacement cards cost $16.50 in the form of a Cashier’s Check or Money Order made payable to the Department of Health. This CANNOT be done electronically, yet.
Follow program rules and the law.
- One caregiver per patient; one patient per caregiver.
- One grow site per registered patient.
- No more than 10 cannabis plants, jointly between a registered patient and caregiver (ALL plants must be tagged).
- No more than 4 ounces of usable cannabis, jointly between a registered patient and caregiver.
- Do not use medical cannabis in a way that endangers the health or well-being of another person.
- Do not use medical cannabis for purposes other than medical use as permitted by law.
- Do not use medical cannabis in any moving vehicle, at any work place, on any school grounds, or in any other public place (including public parks, beaches, recreation centers).
- Put a tag or other identification maker with the 329 Card Number AND Expiration Date at the base of every medical cannabis plant so they can be more easily identified as legal. In the recently approved DOH Administrative Rules, “the person who has been designated to cultivate cannabis shall have a legible identification tag on each cannabis plant being cultivated for the qualifying patient”. All plants must be tagged accordingly. Read Tagging Guidelines.
Renew your Registration Card Annually
- Renew up to 60 days before expiration to avoid lapse in protection.
- 329 is a reference to MEDICAL Cannabis as opposed to 420 which is a reference to RECREATIONAL Cannabis.
- 329 Card = Registration Card = Medical Cannabis Registration Card
- COMPLETE applications are processed in the order received. It is in everyone’s best interest to be accurate, consistent, and complete when submitting an Application Packet.
- 329 Cards are issued based on the information provided in the application packet. Changes to this information after the card has been issued may require a payment of $16.50 and the appropriate change forms.
It’s NOT okay to drive a motor vehicle when under the influence of medical cannabis.