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F.A.Q. Labeling Deposit Containers 
         Hawaii Deposit Beverage Container Program 
 
 
What needs to be marked on the container? 
Containers need to clearly indicate the word “Hawaii” or the letters  
“HI” along with the deposit value of 5 cents. The size of the lettering must  
be a minimum of 1/8 of an inch.  

 

 

 

Is there an option for containers that do not have the HI 5¢ label? 
Unlabeled deposit beverage containers shall not be sold.  If a deposit beverage container lacks 
the required HI 5¢ label then the container must be labeled before sale.  Labeling can be 
accomplished by applying a “HI 5¢” sticker to the container.  Stickers need to be strong enough 
to stay on the containers when they get wet.  Grocers or retailers that apply stickers to deposit 
beverage containers must report and pay the 5¢ deposit and 1¢ container fee for those 
containers.  Reporting forms and payment instructions are available on our website at 
http://health.hawaii.gov/hi5/distributors/.  
 
 

Here is a list of manufacturers who make HI 5¢ labels. 

Dana Labels, Inc.  
(808) 845-3262  
Debbie Suzuki: debbie@danalabels.com 
 
ABB 
1-888-CALL-ABB or 1-888-225-5222 
http://www.callabb.com/Store/Others.asp?lK=50700 
 
UPC Labels     (Will fax price quote and sample.) 
Steve Stone 1-800-256-7958 or 281-934-4700  
http://universalpricingco.com  

 
 

HI 5¢          HAWAII 5¢          Hawaii 5¢  
CT, DE, HI, IA, ME, NY, OR, MA, VT, 5¢ 
 

Examples 
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Labeling Requirements in Law 
 
[§342G-112]  Deposit beverage container requirements.   
(a) Except as provided in subsection (b), every deposit beverage container sold in this State shall 
clearly indicate the refund value of the container and the word "Hawaii" or the letters "HI".  The 
names or letters representing the names of other states with comparable deposit legislation 
may also be included in the indication of refund value.  Other indications may be required as 
specified in rules. 
(b) Subsection (a) does not apply to any type of refillable glass beverage container which has a 
brand name permanently marked on it and which has the equivalent of a refund value of at 
least 5 cents which is paid upon receipt of such container by a dealer or distributor. 
 
 
Labeling Requirements in Administrative Rules 
 
§11-282-21 Deposit beverage container requirements.   
(a) Every deposit beverage container sold or offered for sale in the State shall have the Hawaii 
refund value clearly indicated in accordance with section 342G-112, HRS. Additionally all 
deposit beverage containers shall have:  

1. The refund value affixed on the top or side of the container in letters at least 1/8 inch in 
size; and 

2. The refund value clearly, prominently, and indelibly marked on it by painting, printing, 
scratch embossing, raised letter embossing, or by securely affixed stickers. 
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