Hawaii Electronic Waste and Television

Recycling and Recovery Law

TV Manufacturer Information

Manufacturers of televisions sold in the state of Hawaii must register with the
Department of Health (DOH) and pay an annual registration fee of $2,500.
Manufacturers must register with DOH prior to selling TVs in Hawaii.

Manufacturer Described
Manufacturers are those who:

e Make or made TVs under their own
brand; or

e Sold TVs under a brand which they
licensed; or

e Sold TVs without affixing a brand.

The law also includes retailers who sell
TVs made by others under a brand that
the seller owns.

Manufacturer Timeline

January 1, 2010

Registration and $2,500 fee payment are
due. Annual fee payments are due by
January 1% of each year.

Registration and renewal shall include a
list of all TV brands the manufacturer
sells.

Note: Manufacturers of both TVs and CEDs
must pay registration fees separately.

June 1, 2010

Recycling plans are due to DOH.
Manufacturers must submit recycling

plans annually.
(Continued on next page)

Covered TV Described

Covered televisions include any device
that is capable of receiving broadcast,
cable, or satellite signals and displaying
television or video programming,
including without limitation any direct
view or projection television with a
viewable screen of nine inches or larger
with display technology based on
cathode ray tube, plasma, liquid crystal
on silicon, silicon crystal reflective
display, light emitting diode, or similar
technology marketed and intended for
use by a household.

Covered TV Exemption
The law exempts devices listed below.

e TVs that are part of a motor vehicle.
This also includes replacement parts
for a motor vehicle.

e TVs that are functionally or physically
required as parts of larger pieces of
equipment used in an industrial,
commercial or medical setting.
Including diagnostic, monitoring or
control equipment.

e Telephones of any type.

e Global Positioning Systems.



Recycling and Recovery

Manufacturers are required to submit
recycling plans to DOH for approval.

Recycling plans must describe how the
manufacturer will establish, conduct,
and manage a program for the recycling
of TVs sold in Hawaii. Manufacturer
contact information must be provided to
the public.

Recycling plans are subject to the
following conditions in law:

e No fee shall be charged at the point
of recycling if the TV is brought by
the TV owner to a central location for
recycling.

e Areasonable transportation fee may
be charged if the TV manufacturer or
manufacturer’s agent removes the
TV from the owner’s premises at the
owner’s request and if the removal is
not in conjunction with delivery of a
new TV to the owner.

e Each manufacturer may develop its
own recycling program or may
collaborate with other manufacturers.

Manufacturers shall implement and fully
operate their recycling plans no later
than January 1, 2011.

Timeline (Continued from previous page)
January 1, 2011

Deadline for implementation of recycling
plans. Information must be available to
customers about recycling services.

TVs must be labeled with a manufacturer
brand. Manufacturer brand labels must
be permanently affixed and readily
visible. TVs without a brand label will be
prohibited from being sold in Hawaii. In
addition, brands must be registered with
DOH.

January 31, 2012

Deadline for manufacturers to report
total weight of TVs recycled in the
previous year. Manufacturers must
report annually.

For More Information Contact

Hawaii Department of Health
Solid and Hazardous Waste Branch
919 Ala Moana Blvd., Room 212
Honolulu, Hawaii 96814

Phone: (808) 586-4226
Fax: (808) 586-7509

Website: www.hawaii.gov/ewaste



