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Immunization & Examination 

Requirements for School Entry 

•Hawaii Revised Statutes (State Laws) 

•Hawaii Administrative Rules (HAR)  

Chapter 11-157 



Health Requirements 

• Physical Examination (PE) 

• Tuberculosis (TB) Examination 

• Immunizations 

 



Physical Examination  

• Each student must present a record of  
PE before first attending school in 
Hawaii 

• Must be performed within 12 months 
before first school attendance 

• Must be performed and signed by a U.S. 
licensed physician, APRN, or PA 

• A valid PE may be used for transfer into 
all other schools in Hawaii 



• Each student must provide a certificate of 

TB examination before first attending 

school in Hawaii 

• Must be performed within 12 months before 

first attending school in Hawaii 

• Must be issued by Hawaii DOH, or a U.S. 

licensed physician, APRN, or PA 

• A valid certificate of TB examination may 

be used for transfer into all other schools in 

Hawaii 

Tuberculosis  Examination 



Tuberculosis Examination 

 (continue) 

• Must be a Mantoux tuberculin skin test 

(PPD).  Tine test is not acceptable 

• A certificate of TB must include: 

 date administered & read 

 results in millimeters 

 Signature or stamp of MD, DO, APRN, 

PA, or clinic 



Tuberculosis Examination 
 (continue) 

• TB test Results: 

• <10 mm: acceptable for school entry 

• 10 mm: must also have a chest  

 x-ray (CXR ).  Written documentation 

of a negative CXR must be provided prior 

to first attendance at school 



Tuberculosis Examination 

 (continue) 

• Students with a documented of past 

positive PPD test, may have a CXR 

performed and certificate issued 

without a repeat skin test 



 Tuberculosis  Examination 
 (continue) 

• Children who first attend school before 

age 12 months: 

– must turn in a TB certificate before they 

reach 14 months of age, or be excluded 

from school until the certificate is obtained 



 

• For children less than 19 months of age, 

required immunizations are based on 

the child’s age 

• HAR Chapter 11-157, Exhibit B  

 (page 2) Table 1     

 

Required Immunizations  

- Preschool 



Required Immunizations  

- Preschool (continue) 

• For children 19 months of age & older: 

 4 DTaP 

 3 Polio 

 1 MMR 

 1 Hib (at least one dose of Hib on or after 12 months of age) 

 3 Hep B 

 1 varicella 

 
   

 



Required Immunizations 

Grade Kindergarten - 12 

 5 DTaP 

 4 Polio 

 2 MMR 

 3 Hep B* 

 1 or 2 varicella** 

 
   

 

*3 doses of hepatitis B vaccine are required for school attendance for all students 

born after December 31, 1992 and for 7th grade attendance 

**2 doses of varicella vaccine are required if the first dose is given on or after the 

13th birthday 



Required Immunizations 

- 7th grade attendance* 

 

 2 MMR 

 3 Hep B 

 1 or 2 varicella** 
   

  *In addition to meeting the K-12 immunization requirements  

**2 doses are required if the first dose is administered on or after age 13     

years 



Immunization Requirements 

• Must have complete dates        
(month/day/year)     

• Must meet minimum ages & 
intervals between doses 

• Must be signed or stamped by a U.S. 
licensed physician, APRN, PA, or 
clinic 

 
 



Immunity by serologic testing 

• Laboratory evidence of immunity may 

be substituted for a record of 

immunization 

• Requires a laboratory report, signed by 

a U.S. licensed physician, APRN, or PA 

certifying that student is immune to the 

specified disease 



Clinical history of  

varicella infection 

• A documented history of varicella 

(chickenpox), signed by a U.S. 

licensed physician, APRN, or PA 

may be substituted for the 

varicella vaccine requirement 



Minimum intervals  

between vaccine doses 

• HAR, Chapter 11-157, Exhibit B -Table 5 

• There is No maximum interval between doses 

• An immunization given before the minimum 
age or interval between doses will NOT be 
acceptable for school entry 



4-Day “Grace Period” 

  

•  A grace period of 4 days 

 applies to each minimum 

 age & interval 

   



Exemptions 

• Apply to Immunizations  

• Two types:  Medical or Religious 

• There are No exemptions to the TB 

clearance requirement 

• Philosophical exemptions are Not 

allowed by the State. 



Medical Exemption 

• A medical exemption may be 

granted by a U.S. licensed physician 

• A physician must state in writing 

that giving a specific vaccine would 

endanger the student’s life or health 

and specify the medical reason 



Medical Exemption 

 (continue) 

• Must state the length of time during 

which the vaccine would endanger 

the student’s health or life 

• Must be on the stationery or 

printed forms of the physician 



Religious Exemption 

• Parent/guardian must sign a 

statement certifying that the person’s 

religious beliefs prohibit the practice 

of immunization (DOH EPI 7 Form)   

• A religious exemption based on an 

objection to a specific vaccine will not 

be granted 



Provisional Attendance 

• A student who does not complete: 

 all required immunizations 

 report of a PE 

may attend school provisionally upon submitting 
written proof (appointment card) from a health care 
provider that the student is in the process of 
completing the missing requirements 
  

• There is NO provisional attendance for 
students lacking a TB clearance 

 



Provisional Attendance 

 (continue) 

Students attending school on 

provisional attendance status have 

3 months from the date of 

provisional attendance to complete 

the missing health requirements

      

      

    (EPI 10B)    



Provisional Attendance 

 (continue)   

• Students who do not complete the 

missing immunizations or PE within 3 

months will be excluded from school 

• School should send parent the “Notice 

of Exclusion” (EPI 10D), stating the 

student will be excluded 30 calendar 

days from the date of the notice 



Provisional Attendance 

 (continue) 

• Beginning 30 days after the date of 
the “Notice of Exclusion,” the 
student shall be excluded from 
school 

• Student may attend school after 
bringing documentation showing 
completing of the missing health 
requirements 



 
 
 

Screening Records 

Case Study  



Resource: How to complete the Form 14: 



Screening Health Record:  
Case Sample (Form 14) 



Case Sample:  

 Student Name & Birthdate 



Case Sample: PE – date performed (within 12 
months of school entry date) 



Case Sample: PE – Valid provider signature 

(with physician credentials)  



Case Sample: Valid TB certification 

(documented by physician)    



Case Sample:  

Screening Record – Immunizations  



• 1st dose:   on or after 6 weeks of age 

• 2nd dose:  at least 4 weeks after 1st  dose 

• 3rd dose:  at least 4 weeks after 2nd dose 

• 4th dose:  at least 6 months after 3rd  dose and 

                     not before12 months of age 

• 5th dose:  on or after 4 years of age  

DTaP or DTP Vaccine 
Minimum ages and intervals between doses: 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



Exceptions for DTaP  

Students who received their 4th dose of DTaP 

on or after their 4th birthday are not required 

to receive a 5th dose 



• 1st dose:   on or after age 6 weeks 

• 2nd dose:   at least 4 weeks after 1st dose 

• 3rd dose:   at least 4 weeks after 2nd dose 

• 4th dose:   at least 4 weeks after 3rd dose 

Polio Vaccine 
Minimum ages and intervals between doses: 

 

 



Exceptions for Polio  

For students who receive only OPV or IPV: 

 if the 3rd dose was given  on or after 

 the 4th  birthday, the 4th dose is not 

 required  

For students that receive any combination 

of the OPV or IPV: 

 4 doses of Polio vaccine are required 

      regardless of age when the series was 

      initiated or completed  



• 1st dose:   may be given at birth 

• 2nd dose:  at least 4 weeks after 1st dose 

• 3rd dose:  at least 8 weeks after 2nd dose, 

                     and 4 months after 1st dose but 

                     not before age 6 months 

Hepatitis B Vaccine 
Minimum ages and intervals between doses: 



Varicella Vaccine 
Minimum ages and intervals between doses: 

• 1st dose: on or after 12 months of age 

• 2nd dose: at least 4 weeks after 1st 

 dose (only required if 1st 

 dose is given on or after  

                     age 13 years 



• 1st dose:  on or after 12 months 

 of age 

• 2nd dose: at least 4 weeks after 

 the 1st dose  

MMR – Measles, Mumps, Rubella 
Minimum ages and intervals between doses: 



• 2 doses of MMR given: 

 

1st dose invalid (given before 12   

 months of age) 

2nd dose becomes first valid dose 

 Tom needs one more dose of MMR 

 

MMR (Case Sample - Tom Immunize) 

 

 



Case Sample: Screening Results 
Tom Immunize - Form 14 

• Tom is missing polio dose number 4 

• He is also missing MMR dose number 2 
because the 1st dose  was given before the 
minimum age of 12 months. 



EPI 12B Form - Section #1 
Case Sample: Tom Immunize 



EPI 12 B Form - Section #2 & #3 
Case Sample: Tom Immunize 



EPI 12 Form -Exemptions: Medical and Religious 

Case Sample: Tom Immunize 



 A Sample of a Final Report - EPI 12B 
(Grades K-12) 

 



 A Sample of a Final Report - EPI 12A 
(Preschool, Head Start and Child Care Centers) 

New EPI12A form:  

Report enrollment separately for: 

students <19 months of age and  

students ≥19 months of age 



 
 

 
Reporting Requirement  

Immunization Assessment Report (EPI 12) 
  
 
 



Reporting Requirements 

• All schools must Submit Immunization 
Assessment Reports (EPI 12 reports) to the 
Department of Health by October 10th and 
January 10th including the names of all 
students: 

Provisionally admitted 

Excluded for failure to comply with immunization 
& examination requirements 

Medical & Religious exemptions 

• Report must include the missing 
immunizations and dose numbers 



EPI 12A and EPI 12B Forms:  

EPI 12A: 

Preschool, Head 

Start and Child 

Care Centers  

EPI 12B: 

Grades K-12 

Report due day  

Report due day  



How to Order Forms 
EPI 6 Form (Request for Forms) 



Online Immunization Assessment 

 Reporting System 

• Access the website:   

    https://immunization.doh.hawaii.gov/HIMedIC  

    (Need to register first!) 

 

• Access the User Manual: 

• Go to vaxhawaii.com 
1. Click on: School Health Requirements 

2. Click on: School Online Reporting System  

        User Manual 

 

• Call ATSS at (808)586-8313 for further assistance or 
technical support  

 

 

 



Contact Information 

• Immunization Branch: 

– ATSS: 586-8313 

– Neighbor Islands: 1-800-933-4832 

– ATSS Fax: (808) 586-7511 

– Web Site: www.vaxhawaii.com 

• Tuberculosis Control Branch: 

– (808) 832-5731 

– TB Information Line (808) 832-5738 

– Web Site: www.hawaii.gov/health/tb 




