Conditional Release and Competency Restoration Statutes - Comparison by State, May 10, 2007

State CR? Misdemeanors on CR?
Alabama Yes
Arkansas Yes
Colorado No
Connecticut Yes Yes. Only used for serious felonies
Florida Yes
Georgia Yes Yes
lllinois Yes Yes
Indiana No
Maine
Maryland Yes Yes
Massachusetts
Michigan
Mississippi Yes
Missouri Yes Yes
Montana Yes
New Jersey Yes Yes
New Mexico
New York Yes Yes
North Carolina No
Ohio Yes Yes
Oklahoma Yes
Tennessee
Texas No
Utah Yes
Virginia Yes Yes
Wisconsin Yes Yes

Source: NASMHPD - State Forensic Directors



Conditional Release and Competency Restoration Statutes - Comparison by State, May 10, 2007

State Max time for competency restoration?
Alabama No limit
Arkansas 10 months
Colorado No limit
Connecticut Limit exists (unknown duration)
Florida 5 years
Georgia 90 days, then review - can be extended by 9 months, then civil commitment - unlimited
lllinois 1 year, then discharge hearing & review every 60 days
Indiana Two consequtive 90 day periods; then civil commitment
Maine 1 year
Maryland
Massachusetts Maximum time of prison sentence
Michigan 15 months
Mississippi No statutory limit. In practice: Lesser offense: 6 months; Capital offense: 18 months maximum
Missouri Review every 180 days
Montana Two consequtive 90 day periods; then civil commitment
New Jersey
New Mexico 9 months
New York Misdemeanor: If IST, charges dismissed. Felony: 1 year, review, then bi-annual review until 2/3 of maximum sentence, then dismissed.
North Carolina Civil commitment - no time limit
Ohio Misdemeanor: 30-60 days; Felony: 6 months - 1 year, denpending on the offense
Oklahoma Misdemeanor: 1 year, Felony: 2 years, maximum time they would serve if lower
Tennessee Review every 6 months, no statutory limit (case law: 7 years)
Texas No time frames
Utah 90 days, then can be extended by 18 months + 18 months, aggravated murder or murder can be extended by another 18 months
Virginia 6 months, then review hearing - can be extended for 6 months
Wisconsin 1 year; then civil commitment

Source: NASMHPD - State Forensic Directors




